online login

burton
burton
Community Member

hello, i have a family license from 2014, cant get old user on and cant access secret key to login online. I never had an online account before

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:liscense from 2014, cant get old user on and cant access secret key to login online

Comments

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni

Welcome to the forum, @burton! I'm sorry for the confusion. You can't access a Secret Key because you don't have one; Secret Keys are only for 1password.com accounts. Can you tell me a bit more about what you're trying to do, and what's not working the way you expect? What does "can't get old user on" mean?

• burton
    burton
    Community Member

Thanks for getting back to me Lars. I got a family subscription several years ago and my wife tried it but didnt continue using it. When I downloaded it again for her today it still has her master PW in place but she cannot retrieve it even with the prompt. It seems that I can take the step to delete her data and start over as the easiest option. ???

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni

@burton - 1Password accounts (subscriptions) have been available only since 2016, so while I suppose it might depend on your definition of "several," if you're thinking longer ago than that, then it wasn't a subscription/account, it was a standalone license.

Either way, however, you can click Help > Troubleshooting > Reset all 1Password data and reset all that old data, as long as you're certain that's what you want to do -- all that data will be lost. Once you restart 1Password after that, it will be as if she is a new user. If your wife is planning to be a standalone user and she's also going to be using 1Password 7 for Mac, you'll need to download that directly from our downloads page, since the Mac App Store version is now membership-only. Let us know if you have any questions!