Paranoid Questions of the Day (PQsD)

Options
mobius32x
mobius32x
Community Member

Okay, every so often I review my 1P setup and, although I'm a long time user, my mind starts racing.

So, I have a very long master password (more than 16 characters and very random) and have it secured should I ever forget it. In 1P, you can conceal a password when saved as a login and I can also conceal a password if saved under Categories/Password ... but is this a good idea to store the master password within 1P? I've been very careful about even writing/storing the master password anywhere (I use Knox) ... and I'm the only person who uses my computer ... I guess I'm wondering the likelihood of someone getting remote access to my computer and creeping into 1P and finding stuff.

This leads me to my second question. I've read that 1P now works better with Yubikey, but if one is paranoid/concerned about the potential for remote access does a Yubikey provide better protection for 1P? For me, Yubikey seems more useful for mobile/laptop protection but I confess to having some trouble trying to figure out all that it can do and whether it adds complexity that doesn't serve security (at least for my usage).

1Password Version: 7.1.2
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: OSX 10.13.6
Sync Type: 1P

Comments

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni
    Options

@mobius32x

every so often I review my 1P setup and, although I'm a long time user, my mind starts racing.

Deep breaths. We're here for you. ;)

I have a very long master password (more than 16 characters and very random)

Mine's over 50. I feel your pain. :)

I guess I'm wondering the likelihood of someone getting remote access to my computer and creeping into 1P and finding stuff.