How to make a multi-step login page that's 1Password friendly?

jsnajdr
jsnajdr
Community Member
edited January 2019 in 1Password in the Browser

I'm a developer working on a login page for a web app. Because we support things like passwordless logins, the login flow is multi-step. First you enter the username, then click "Next". Only at this moment the password field appears and can be entered.

Are there any best practices recommended by the team on how to help 1Password fill both fields in one step? Many login pages have the password in DOM all the time and it's just hidden with "display: none". 1Password doesn't fill the field if it or any of its parent elements is hidden.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@jsnajdr: Thanks for getting in touch. Indeed, we don't want 1Password filling hidden fields generally, since that's a common trick for malicious pages to collect user data. Though that's generally targeting browser autofill since that happens without user interaction, it's something we all have to be concerned about, as users and as the makers of an app to protect sensitive data.