Should I delete stored payment information on Amazon?

buddyboy101
buddyboy101
Community Member

I'm new to 1Password, and curious if I should delete stored credit cards on Amazon's website and other online retailers (i.e. not credit cards stored on Chrome, which I believe should be deleted once using 1Password regardless) once my credit cards are saved to 1Password. I guess my underlying concern is whether having credit card info stored in both 1password and Amazon's website is at all redundant or exposes me to risk that outweighs any convenience?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• nedmullen1
    nedmullen1
    Community Member

hallo :) thats actually an interesting question i have been wondering much the same myself! Definitely on almost every single other website that I shop on I have removed my credit card details because the 1Password option for credit cards is so darn handy and seamless and fast. Then again on sites like paypal I do currently have my card details saved there for ease of use especially on my mobile phone because within the paypal app it is faster to speed through a checkout. At least on amazon I know when you use a card on your browser at checkout it saves your card details so you would have to go in and remove it every time after checkout which could be cumbersome. I wonder what other people think :)

• I personally don't have an issue with storing my details with Amazon, as I'm an Amazonoholic, and the convenience outweighs any concerns for me. It does expose you to an additional threat, but my assessment of that threat for me personally is that it is a fairly negligible risk.

Ben

• buddyboy101
    buddyboy101
    Community Member

Thanks for the replies! I think I'll remove where it makes sense.

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni