Is "Open and Fill" supposed to work with 1Password X?

I'm using 1Password X with Chrome on a Pixelbook. "Open and Fill" either isn't supposed to work with 1Password X or I'm doing something wrong. I've been a 1Password user for over a decade but I'm new to 1Password X. The best I can do is use "Open and Fill" and then as soon as I click once in either the USERNAME or PASSWORD field, my credentials are automatically filled in. This isn't a big inconvenience, but I'd just like to know if this is all I should expect from 1Password X.

1Password Version: X
Extension Version: 1.13.2
OS Version: Chrome OS
Sync Type: AgileBits Families Plan
Referrer: forum-search:open and fill 1password x

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni

Hello @LarryMcJ,

You're seeing the expected behaviour. The way that open-and-fill in 1Password X works is 1Password X waits for the page to place keyboard focus on a field. In terms of events we can listen for the trouble is there is a page loaded event but all that tells us is the browser has finished downloading the parent HTML and associated resources. Stuff like JavaScript and iframes mean that event doesn't mean the page is ready to interact with and I've seen pages where it takes five or more seconds before the page is actually ready. Five seconds may not seem like a lot but it's an age when things are normally measured in milliseconds.

A well designed page, especially if it's a dedicated sign-in page, will hopefully leave keyboard focus on the first field rather than force the user to click first. If nothing else it can help those with visual impairments, a little thing to make things a bit easier and quicker. If a page does this you should find 1Password X fills the fields automatically. Amazon is a good example of it working. If a site doesn't leave keyboard focus on a field though it would see a pause and then 1Password X fills after you click.

• LarryMcJ
    LarryMcJ
    Community Member