Exact URL matching

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni

Hi @wiserweb,

As a developer I'm sure you understand that for there to be any hope of change we need to understand how the current approach fails. If I were to go to the developers and say you're unhappy with the current UI and consider it bug and offer nothing in the way of detail or explanation the best I can hope for would be a "duly noted" and nothing more. I couldn't blame them either because the argument is too vague.

As it stands 1Password displays all matches to the registered domain name. Matches to the FQDN and any items flagged as a favourite are elevated to the first section and the rest below in a section of related items. Exceptions to this are based on the Public Suffix List. Given FQDN matches are always elevated above related matches what is it about the current UI that is impeding speedy identification of the desired Login item?

I do feel it's worth pointing out that 1Password has always made related items available, previously there were hidden behind a first level menu item titled Show xxxxx more items, all we're doing now is making them a bit more visible in the default view because the Suggested Items is a first level menu option now. The one option that altered 1Password's behaviour was removed because quite frankly it caused more hinderance than good so for the greater good it was removed and I'm not sorry to see it go. We can't simply add more configurable options whenever there is a request, not even if we cheat and hide behind the word Advanced. The more options you throw in the more it risks becoming unwieldy and as it stands the learning curve is too steep for many people (which is on us to correct).