Forgot masterpassword

spanzade
spanzade
Community Member

I recently reset the masterpassword and forgot the new password. Is there a way for me to recover the password?
I've all other details i.e. sign in address, e-mail and secretkey.
Please advice as all of my information is stored in and I can't access it. I've been using 1 password for more than 5 years now.
Can I use old old backup with old master password. I remember my old master password.
I also e-mailed but didn't heard anything.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:forgot masterpassword

Comments

• Hi @spanzade

Is there another administrator / organizer on your membership? If so they can help you recover:

Recover accounts for family or team members

If not, it is not possible to recover or reset the Master Password. In that case please see this thread for instructions:

FAQ: I'm locked out of my account (membership) / need to start over

Ben

P.S. I'm sorry about the delay. We typically try to respond to all inquiries within 24 hours, but lately due to volume it has been averaging closer to 48-72 hrs. Now that we've got a dialogue going here I'm going to close your email ticket to avoid duplicating efforts.

• spanzade
    spanzade
    Community Member

Thank you Ben!! appreciate your help!

I was able to login to 1password on an apple device (phone) using old masterpassword, but when I'm using the old masterpassword to reset using the app, it is giving me error.
    I'm unable to login to 1password.com using the old masterpassword. what are my options?

Can I add a new member or export all the data and startover?

• @spanzade

On the iPhone if you look for a login item for 1Password.com do you see one? If so does that have the new Master Password recorded on it?

Ben

• spanzade
    spanzade
    Community Member