I have 1password on my computer and I have a master password. I do not understand what to do next...

Patrick55
Patrick55
Community Member

I downloaded 1 password and have the master key and the master password. I do not understand what to do next to fully utilize the 1password.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:I have 1password on my computer and I have a master password. I do not understand what to do next...

Comments

• MrSnrub
    MrSnrub
    Community Member

You could scan the setup code (a QR-code), which you will find in your emergency kit, or in your account (my.1password.com, for example).

Once you open the application, choose "scan setup-code". A little scan-window opens, like when you scan a qr-code on a smartphone. Move this window over the setup-code and after one or two seconds, the following information will copied to the 1Password application:

• Region
    • Username
    • Email-address
    • Secret Key

You still have to enter your Master Password manually. After that, click "Log in" and you are inside your account. Next time you open the application, it might be locked, depending in your settings. This time you will onyl need to enter the Master Password, not the Secret Key. You will always have to enter the Master Password when the application is locked. Same thing goes for your online login on my.1password.com (or .eu, or .ca, depending on what region you chose during signup). After you enter your Secret Key there once, it will be saved locally on your device, so you don't have to enter it every time.

Here's how to find the Secret Key and/or setup code: https://support.1password.com/secret-key/

After you open the app, you can start entering logins, passwords, etc. Click either the "+"-button next to the search field or do it like this for exisiting logins: