How do I install a version of 1Password on a new computer? I have the license for adding

I purchased the license for 1Password quite a while ago and installed it on my laptop and my wife's Mac. I want to add it to my work computer and don't know how to access it once I've downloaded it. When I click "sign in to 1Passwword" it requires a "sign-in address" that I don't know. I have my Secret Key and Master Password but don't know what to put in "sign-in address."

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:How do I install a version of 1Password on a new computer? I have the license for adding

Comments

• zigojacko
    zigojacko
    Community Member

Yeh I did the same thing yesterday when upgrading from version 4 to version 7 and ended up upgrading to a "1Password membership" in order to acquire said 'sign-in address', 'secret key' and 'emergency kit'. (The 'sign-in address' is only applicable to teams and business users - otherwise there is a default one 'my.1password.com').

To be honest, the entire process was a complete mess and I had no idea what to do, where to go and was just going around in circles for hours.

If you've already got your secret key and master password then I suspect you might be able to proceed just by entering 'my.1password.com' as the sign-in address if you've only got a personal account. You can learn more at this page.

• Hello, @joedold! If you have a 1Password membership, then you are already on the right track and as @zigojacko mentioned, if you're not certain what your sign-in address is, using https://my.1password.com is a good bet. This will work even for family accounts. :+1:

Of course, if you've given that a try and are still having trouble, let me know and we'll take a closer look. 🙂

• tonyJChristopher
    tonyJChristopher
    Community Member