Why 3 steps in Windows vs 1 step in Mac for biometric authentication?

Options

I have been using 1Password on Mac for many years, and just moved to a Surface Pro with Windows Hello. I am confused as to why there are 3 times as many steps for bioauthentication in Windows vs Mac after initial unlock after reboot.

On Mac:
1. Open 1Password and simultaneiously prompts for Master Password and Touch ID
2. Put finger on Touch ID and 1Password Opens

On Windows:
1. Open 1Password and prompts for Master Password and offers a choice of unlocking with Windows Hello or Secure Desktop
2. Click on WIndows Hello
3. Brings up screen confirms identify
4. Waits for me to click on OK

1Password Version: 7.3.661
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: 10 Pro 1903
Sync Type: 1Password Account
Referrer: forum-search:Why additional steps in Windows version?

Comments

• rosenkrieger
    rosenkrieger
    Community Member
    Options

I agree. I also love to use Windows Hello to login to my computer its very fast. With 1Password not so much. The step "Hit okay to login" should be elminated. If I boot up and entered my Master Password (once) it should simply unlock with Hello and not ask for any more confirmation.

• For the moment, we don't have the option to automatically authenticate with Hello, @TexBuck and @rosenkrieger. We ask Windows to authenticate you with Hello when you invoke it (which can be done just by pressing Enter with an empty Master Password field focused), then Windows handles the rest of that process – the authentication and the confirmation step. I think we'd be open to eliminating the confirmation step, but that's outside our control at the moment. An Enter press can also confirm, for what it's worth, so your workflow can be Enter > touch sensor (or look at camera) > Enter, which is pretty quick in my experience.