1pwd gives incorrect 2FA code in Brave browser

slobizman
slobizman
Community Member

I have been using the Brave browser on a Mac for a couple months now without any issues with 1pwd and the browser extension. Except in the last week or so. In the last week, 1pwd often has problems with 2FA. When I get to the part where I need to paste in the 2FA code, I do it and it does not accept it, telling me it's an incorrect code. When I restart the browser, it works again.

Is there an issue with 1pwd on Brave?

MacOS 10.14.4
Brave Version 0.63.48 Chromium: 74.0.3729.108
1pwd 7.2.5
1pwd extension 4.7.3.90

1Password Version: 7.2.5
Extension Version: 4.7.3.90
OS Version: MacOS 10.14.4
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@slobizman: Thanks for reaching out. I’m sorry for the confusion! This isn't a browser or 1Password issue; rather, since the one-time password is generated using two things -- the saved TOTP secret and the current time -- and I'm betting you haven't made changes to what you've saved in 1Password, it's something outside of that. And since the only thing left is time at that point, that will almost certainly be the culprit --- unless there's a more serious issue with the computer itself. More than likely, setting the date/time/zone settings manually to the correct settings will resolve the issue immediately. Give that a try and let me know what you find.

• slobizman
    slobizman
    Community Member

I did make sure that I pasted the code saved in the clipboard within seconds, so it's not that (if that's what you meant, not sure). And my Date and Time settings on my Mac are correct. And it would not be that anyway, as I can get it to work in other browsers when it doesn't work in Brave. And of course it works after I quit and restart Brave.

• slobizman
    slobizman
    Community Member