Master Password no longer working after update and vault change

Elusis
Elusis
Community Member

I have 1Password on my MacOS and iOS devices. I have a family subscription.

Within the past two weeks, I both accepted an update to 7.2.4 for Mac, and deleted the duplicate vault situation I had after going from an app purchase to a family subscription (discussed and resolved here: https://discussions.agilebits.com/discussion/comment/480374) - essentially I had both the "primary" vault on my machine and the "personal" vault under the family account. So I managed to consolidate them and delete the "primary" on my machine as suggested, about 12/16 or so.

When moving from the "primary" vault to the "personal" vault, I had two different Master Passwords on them - let's call them MP1 and MP2. In deleting "primary," now I had to use MP2 which was longer and harder to type. So after switching to "personal," I changed its Master Password, from MP2 to MP1.

On 12/23, I handed my MacBook (let's call it M1) over to Apple for a keyboard replacement, and switched to using my partner's Macbook (M2) for the week. I have a profile set up there, and with my documents and desktop in iCloud, it was a pretty painless transition. Further detail: M1 has Touch ID while M2 does not.

Under my family 1Password account, I have logins for myself (U1) and my partner (U2). So M2 had 1Password already installed. Under my profile on M2, it was just a matter of logging in by typing my Master Password (MP1). No problem.

Now, when I did so, 1Password unlocked, but it also gave me a "sign-in error" warning, saying "we're having trouble logging into your account, please make sure your Secret Key and password are filled in correctly." But this warning did not have anything filled in for the Master Password, so I typed MP1 again. This resulted in a "wrong password" error. However, if I just dismissed the warning, I could still use 1Password with no trouble.