Will Touch ID be available on 1Password X in the future?

Sorry if this has been asked before, but I can't seem to find a relevant discussion about it.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@codylundquist: Thanks for getting in touch! Unfortunately I don't have a good answer for you now, only "maybe". It isn't currently possible, but it's definitely something we'd like too. The challenge is that Chrome (and Firefox) extension APIs don't allow us access to OS-level stuff like that, so we'd have to find another way...

• codylundquist
    codylundquist
    Community Member

Fair enough. I'm a software engineer myself so I totally understand. Thanks for your time!

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

Likewise, thanks for letting us know you'd like this too. :chuffed:

• heavymark
    heavymark
    Community Member

@brenty "The challenge is that Chrome (and Firefox) extension APIs don't allow us access to OS-level stuff like tha"

Does Safari app extension apis allow you to do it?

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@heavymark: Wow. That's a real head-scratcher. The thing is, a Safari app extension is part of a Mac app, sort of like an iOS extension is part of an iOS app. So...I guess the answer to your questions is "yes", but you can't really have one without the other. I'm not sure how useful 1Password X would be if it was part of 1Password for Mac. No one on Linux, Chrome OS, or Windows could use it...

• heavymark
    heavymark
    Community Member

"I'm not sure how useful 1Password X would be if it was part of 1Password for Mac. No one on Linux, Chrome OS, or Windows could use it..."