To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

I almost died & 1Password saved the day - now it’s a living hell - I need a new password manager

ruthjanette
ruthjanette
Community Member
edited June 2019 in Memberships

I had a massive stroke 1/7/2016. On my ICU bed after regaining consciousness, I told my daughter “meh” m-e-h is my crypt password. She was then able to keep my life going while I was recovering. Then it happened. I bought a new Mac. I got 1Password from the App store and it didn’t work with my crypt! Holy crap!! NOW what can I do? I’m no longer as smart as I once was and I simply can’t figure out what to do..... There’s this “master p/w” thing and a secret key that is so long I have to keep it in my sock drawer. Worse yet, it says it’s gonna “upgrade” my crypt!!! So what do I do? Cry. Then PANIC!!!!! I have a BSCS 1980 UW Madison and 35 years as a Software Developer b4 I retired in 2015 so I’ve seen some [removed by 1Password staff per forum guidelines] and I feared a busted crypt was about to replicate across all my devices. Disconnect all syncing, run from device to device to disconnect syncing all the while realizing that 1Password is dead to me after it promised I could install it on as many Macs as I want, that was a lie. It was nice while it lasted. My MacBook Air is on its last legs but I can’t get a new one or I’d have no crypt on it. What good is a Mac w/ no crypt? Can I please just buy 1Password 6 for Mac? I’ve had it and its predecessors since 2014 and always kept versions up to date but now I’m stuck with no way out. I think the IOS version still works so I’ve considered just switching to iPads only. But I’m stuck now with a MacBook Pro that can’t have a crypt so I don’t use it even though my poor old eyes really need the Retina screen. I’ve also got 2 iMacs that can’t have crypts so I need to remember to keep my iPhone close by if I need a password. Thank god 1Password worked when I got the n