concerned about transition to 1Password for Families

Jim B.
Jim B.
Community Member

My wife and I have been using 1Password since 2008. It's become an indispensable application for us. We are considering subscribing to 1Password for Families, but we want to thoroughly understand the transition process before making that leap. We don't want to be without our passwords; the very thought puts me in a panic!

Here's our current 1Password environment:

• his and her MacBooks, both running Mac Store version 6.8.8
  • his and her iPads, both running version 7.3.2
  • his and her iPhones, both running version 7.3.3
  • sync is via Dropbox
  • 3 vaults: 1 shared, 2 private (1 for each of us)

Can you provide a thorough explanation of the process for transitioning to 1Password for Families?

Thanks!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @Jim B.

I'm glad to hear 1Password has been working so well for you for so long. I'd be happy to help you upgrade to 1Password Families. Here is what I would recommend:

1. Sign up for a 1Password Families membership from your MacBook: https://start.1password.com/sign-up/plan
    2. Print your Emergency Kit that is presented to you as part of the signup process
    3. Download 1Password 7 for Mac on your MacBook and sign into your newly created account using the details from the Emergency Kit
    4. Follow the on-screen prompts to migrate your data
    5. Make sure 1Password for iOS is up to date and sign into your account on your iOS devices
    6. Invite your wife to your membership: Share passwords in 1Password Families
    7. Have her sign up following the link in the invitation email and then follow steps 2 – 5 (once created she should sign into her account with your membership on her devices, not your account)