Setup with standalone vault [restored for paid customers in 7.3.4]

gross
gross
Community Member
edited July 2019 in iOS

View 1Password Approved Answer

Hi,

I have a workflow where I use 1Password on my phone - locally, no sync, do not want sync, can not use sync. Obviously this is not my main way of using 1Password, which I have been using now since 2011, mostly on Mac and iOS.

On that phone, I often remove 1Password and reinstall it. The last time I did this was a few weeks ago, likely running 7.3.1 or 7.3.2.

Today, I needed to urgently do this again, and I reinstalled 1Password to realize the new onboarding screen does not seem to let me configure my local vault at all.

I looked at release notes - all I can see is that 7.3.1 had improvements to standalone vault syncing, which seems to mean standalone vaults still work, and 7.3.3 reduced the size of the app by 27%.

Is this a bug, am I dumb, or is this by design?

How do I go through this onboarding screen?

If this feature was removed, why was it not clearer in release notes, or was it clear and did i miss it? Should I restore my phone to a prior backup, just to regain the ability to use 1Password in standalone mode?

View 1Password Approved Answer

Comments

• Hi @gross

I'm sorry for the trouble. 1Password no longer offers a free-to-use option on iOS. It can either be used with a 1Password membership account or it can be synced to a standalone vault created by 1Password for Mac or 1Password for Windows. It wouldn't be possible to create a new standalone vault from 1Password for iOS. Standalone vaults still work, but must be created by a licensed product (1Password for Mac or 1Password for Windows).

Ben

• gross
    gross
    Community Member

So if I create an iCloud vault on my Mac, use that, I will then be able to disable sync from the phone?

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni