1Password browser extension is causing inputs to lose focus on the Reedsy editor

I'm a developer working on the book editor section of reedsy.com, which is built on top of Quill. We've had complaints from some users that using the 1Password extension causes some of our inputs to lose focus when typing.

To reproduce:

1. Enable 1Password extension in Chrome (also happens at least in Safari)
  2. Sign in to reedsy.com
  3. Go to "My Books"
  4. Create a new book and open it
  5. Type some text into the editor
  6. Highlight that text
  7. Click the link icon in the popup toolbar
  8. Try to type in a URL, but notice that the input loses focus after a single keystroke
  9. Disable/uninstall the 1Password extension
  10. Reload page
  11. Now typing is fine

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: 4.7.3.90
OS Version: macOS 10.13.6 (17G6030)
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:focus

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni

Hello @alecgibson,

You've given excellent steps to reproduce which really do make all the difference in the world but so far I've been unable to trigger the behaviour you're experiencing. I've tested the stable version of our companion extension (the one at version 4.7.3) and I've tested both Firefox and Chrome in case it seemed to be browser specific. I even tried with 1Password X, our standalone extension as that interacts more with the page than the companion extension. I don't know why but in all my attempts not once did focus shift from the URL field and I was able to continue typing an entire URL.