Any multiple iCloud sync options now the Dropbox limits connected devices?

JeremyBechtold
JeremyBechtold
Community Member

I'm posting in Mac, but it's likely just as much iOS being of concern for the question. (admins/mods: feel fee to move it where best fits if you think it's better elsewhere)

I've been using 1Password since at least 2006, if memory serves. It's so long I don't have the old emails to help me remember. Until tonight, I've used dropbox to sync for as long as I've synced. Dropbox recently removed my ability to keep my 2 Macs, 3 iPads, and 4 iPhones all synced because way back when Dropbox came about, I was one of those who promoted the heck out of it and got almost 20gb of free storage just by earning free space when sharing a referral key and since then I rarely use more than 75% of my free space, so I'm loathe to pay $10/mo for something I'll never use. Back to the problem... now I cannot sync with Dropbox because of the three device limit.

This evening I set my main iPhone, home iPad, and home Macbook Air to all sync via iCloud, and then told my wife to sync the same on her iPhone as she's always shared the main primary vault with me. Now I realize that while she shares my itunes account on her iPhone for music and apps, she uses her own iCloud account and that's trouble. Tomorrow when I get to work, I'll sync my iMac and two more iOS devices which DO use my same iCloud account. Still, I fear my wife will be left out.

For other apps which don't have sync options, I've set up unix symbolic links to those files and placed them in dropbox and they worked to sync things to home and work macs. I thought maybe I'd try something similar with my iCloud drive, but as best I can tell, the actual vault file isn't available in a Finder-accessible location (at least not without some digging which I haven't done). And frankly, with a 1P vault, I'm not too keen on the idea of using a symlink for something so important.