To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

1password membership: if I am sick & unable to renew or die what happens to my data.

Options
kogunn
kogunn
Community Member

I have been using 1Password for many years & love it. Currently I have 1Password 6.89 on my Mac. I just read that when Safari 13 comes out, 1Password 6 will no longer work on Safari. I am debating about buying a license for 1Password 7 or getting a membership. Since I am elderly, one of my sons has my 1Password Master password so that if anything happens to me he can access all my data. My concern about the membership is a morbid one; please forgive me for that. I am concerned that if I get sick & am unable to renew my membership when it is due or if I die, what happens to my data? And how would my son be able to access my data? I would feel more secure about a membership if I could have a backup locally that my son could access if the need arises. And when I read about there being a 'cached' backup, this is going above my head. I would like something simpler that could be accessed. I appreciate any advise you would have for me.

1Password Version: 6.89
Extension Version: 4.7.4
OS Version: macOS Mojave version 10.14.5
Sync Type: dropbox
Referrer: forum-search:if you have a 1password membership but are sick and unable to renew your membership or you die what happens to all your data

Comments

• Ben
    Options

Hi @kogunn

No need to apologize. It is a reality of life. The short answer is that in the event your membership lapses your account would become frozen. All of your data would be retained, but new data would not be able to be added and existing data could not be modified. Additionally filling would stop working. It would still be possible to view everything though.