Does emptying the trash permanently remove deleted entries?

Options
a1pmacuser
a1pmacuser
Community Member

Hi there,

I’ve been using 1password for many years and am in the process of going through my logins to delete unnecessary ones. It occurred to me that I may be better off doing a “clean install” of the vault to remove any legacy cruft.
But I read in the forum that deleted entries are in fact kept in the database because of sync. Is that still the case (I use 1Password 6 on Mac and the latest iOS version synced via iCloud)? I did try an export as 1pif file and didn’t see any deleted entries.

So, if deleted entries are kept, how would I go about exporting just the current data, and creating a new 1Password vault with it?

Thanks

1Password Version: Mac 6 / iOS latest
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Mac
Sync Type: iCloud

Comments

• littlebobbytables
    littlebobbytables
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @a1pmacuser,

It is correct that the encrypted SQLite database file used by 1Password does also store the Trash as until a user decides to purge the Trash completely those items must be recoverable. Even after an item is purged from the Trash, if you synchronise between two or more devices we need a way for one client to say an item with this ID did exist but now its deleted so other clients know to delete it. Without such a mechanism one client might assume the item with a specific ID in its vault but not in the sync container is new and needs to be synchronised.

Exporting would only export the alive items so that would be one way. That may be overkill though, if it were me I would say purge the Trash then disable sync and delete the sync container when prompted. Then set up sync once more. It saves having to reset 1Password completely but either should work fine for what you're wanting if you feel you'd prefer the full reset after export.

• a1pmacuser
    a1pmacuser
    Community Member
    Options

I appreciate your quick reply.