1Password 7.3.2 is in Read-Only mode on one of my computers

tome
tome
Community Member
edited August 2019 in Mac

I have been using 1Password for many years. I have purchased it [multiple times actually] through both software bundles I have bought and through the Mac App store. It has been working fine on all my devices for a long time. Recently on one of my computers that my wife uses 1Password has gone into Read-Only mode. We don't know why this happened. It was working fine on version 7.3.1 (I think that was the version) for many weeks but then stopped. I upgraded to 7.3.2 just now hoping this would fix the issue but it didn't. The update worked, now at 7.3.2, but still in Read-Only mode. How do I get it to work again?
Thanks,
-Tom

PS: I should add that this computer is running 10.13.6 (High Sierra). I should also add that I have always had/used the standalone version - I do not like subscription software.

1Password Version: 7.3.2
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: 10.13.6
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@tome: Thanks for reaching out. I’m sorry for the confusion! The 1Password app will be read-only in "standalone" mode without a valid license. If you've purchased a license for 1Password for Mac version 7, you just need to apply it to remove the restriction. Otherwise you'd need to buy one in the app (you can do so from the read-only notice), or get all of the apps and updates as part of a 1Password membership. I hope this helps. Be sure to let me know if you have any other questions! :)

• tome
    tome
    Community Member

How do I get and apply my license? Can I get the license code for the app running on my other computer?
    By the way, why would it have been working for weeks and then suddenly say it is read-only?
    Thanks,
    -Tom

• BikerBob
    BikerBob
    Community Member