[iOS dev] 1P will suggest many subdomains even Associated domains list specifies a single subdomain

guilhermearaujo
guilhermearaujo
Community Member
edited August 2019 in iOS

I am an iOS developer, and my app features shared web credentials.
Our website (www.mycompany.com -- not the actual URL) runs a number of applications, many of them on their own subdomain (e.g. dashboard.mycompany.com), and I have my log in credentials for each of those applications store on my 1Password account.

My iOS app's Associated Domains settings contains specifically webcredentials:www.mycompany.com, but when I'm at the login screen, 1Password suggests me all the other subdomains (in fact, everything under that domain) passwords I have.

The passwords are stored with the correct subdomain, including the www one.

This is something I only noticed after installing the iOS 13 beta. I don't remember seeing this on iOS 12, but I can't be sure.

I'm also not sure if this is something from iOS, which ignores the www subdomain and only delivers the domain to password manager applications, or this can be better handled by 1Password.

Here's an example of what happens:

Of all of these passwords, only two of them belong to the www subdomain.

Is there anything I can do to limit what subdomains can be suggested?

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

Hi @guilhermearaujo!

1Password looks at the domain of a website to show you the list of relevant logins, so the behavior was likely the same on iOS 12. I can see how filtering based on subdomain could be useful to you, so while I cannot make any promises, I can tell you that I have shared your feedback internally :)

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback and have a wonderful day!

• suderman
    suderman
    Community Member

+1

This is the biggest annoyance I have with 1Password and have been dealing with this problem ever since Autofill was introduced in iOS. Please give us the option to filter by the FULL hostname.