To protect your privacy: email us with billing or account questions instead of posting here.

How to upgrade from 1Password 6 standalone to 1Password7 standalone license

Options
mark_494
mark_494
Community Member

Hi I have been using 1Password as a standalone WLAN since 2004 and currently have 1Password 6 but due to latest release it no longer allows Safari 1Password extensions so I can see I need to upgrade to1Password7. I want to continue to use 1Password as standalone WLAN and the 1Password website says I can buy a standalone license rather than a membership. So I have downloaded 1Password7 but I can't see any option to set up as standalone using WLAN. On the first setup screen under 'Used 1Password before?' it lists options as 1Password.com, Sync using iCloud, Sync using Dropbox plus in addition under 'More Options' it has Search My Mac, Create a Standalone Vault or Restore from a backup.
None of those mention Standalone WLAN. I've tried Search My Mac but that that does not work and I can't find my previous backups and 1Password 6 appears to have been replaced with 1Password7 so I cannot open 1password 6 now to check where they went.
Can you help please?

1Password Version: 6.?.?
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: MacOS High Sierra 10.13.6
Sync Type: WLAN

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hi @mark_494!

WLAN sync only works between one computer and one or more mobile devices. You cannot use it to sync two computers, so you will not see it under the more options in the welcome screen.

Where did you download 1Password 7 from? If you downloaded the app from our website, 1Password 7 should have picked up your existing data automatically.

• mark_494
    mark_494
    Community Member
    Options

Hi @ag-ana

I only want to use it on one iMac with 2 iPhones & 2 iPads. So I just need to set it up on the iMac with the existing 1Password 6 data and backup on can you confirm which option I need to pick please?