How to handle security while traveling (and potentially losing devices)

2»

Comments

• redrockcity
    redrockcity
    Community Member
    edited September 2019

I'm new to 1Password after many years of LastPass. The polish and quality of the 1PW apps are far superior to LastPass and it's a real joy to use them (I especially like the TouchID support in OSX :) ). While switching over and getting used to the 1PW model vs. LP and as someone who has had to consider disaster recovery scenarios for traveling, I also became concerned with the Security Key requirement (thus searching and finding this thread!).

I certainly understand and appreciate the extra cryptographic protection provided by the security key--especially for casual users of 1PW. However, I'm wondering if there might be some option for more technically savvy users who are already using and managing cyrptographically strong master passwords to disable the Security Key and only rely on a master password (you could even require one to allow disabling)? That way, for those with complex or high risk DR scenarios who are able and willing to memorize strong master passwords can use and recover 1PW without external support. By all means, still allow other factors such as TOTP apps and YubiKey if the user desires, but these should all be optional (ala LastPass), including the Security Key.

• KnnNike
    KnnNike
    Community Member

@redrockcity I really like that idea. My institution has a requirement that your password be changed every XX number of days, unless you set a password with sufficient entropy...this is basically what you're describing.

• Ben
    Ben
    edited September 2019

Hi folks,

Thank you for taking the time to chime in with your thoughts.