How do I keep link item names when moving items w/ attachments from local vault to familyplan vault?

bdmesh
bdmesh
Community Member

I have v6 on my Mac that I've been using with a stand alone vault for a couple years. I just created a family plan and want to migrate all my data to vaults that I've created there. However, if I try to copy over an item with attachments, they become links. I've seen a few comments about the change over... not a fan in general, but that aside, I have one big immediate problem blocking my migration. When the attachments become links, in all web/app experiences but the app/mac that I used to move the items, links all show up in the parent records as "Imported Attachment". (Not a problem if I create new items/links in the new vaults). In records that have 10-20 links, this is problematic in that I can't tell which is what. I can of course unlink/relink which seems to resolve the naming problem. However, I have a few hundred attachments/links and that could take hours to fix. How do I maintain naming of attachments/links in a large scale migration of data?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:"Imported Attachment"

Comments

• bdmesh
    bdmesh
    Community Member

Actually, it looks like it's just the web browser that shows no hint of attachment/link names - still would like to resolve

• Hi @bdmesh,

I'm sorry for the inconvenience here. It isn't common to have more than a couple of attachments on an item, and as such the migration process wasn't designed to account for items with 10-20 attachments. As you've found, they should still migrate okay, but indeed the naming convention is less than ideal. I wish I had a better solution to offer but unfortunately I think the best I have to offer would be the unlink/relink process you mentioned, or renaming the links as appropriate.