YubiKey Support for X

I might be the only one here who likes this idea. I was wondering if Agile will be supporting YubiKey for 1Password X? It's great to have the 1Password integration with 1Password X to unlock my vaults. It would be nice to also unlock my vaults with YubiKey + PIN (I have a really long Master Password, on purpose). Anyways, just a thought. Also, it would lessen the dependency on 1Password needing to be installed on macOS.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• kaitlyn
    kaitlyn
    1Password Alumni

Hey @dreinidaho! We do support U2F security keys, such as YubiKey, for two-factor authentication with your 1Password account. I don't see us using hardware keys to replace the Master Password, but that's an interesting concept. If you haven't already set up your YubiKey with your 1Password account, this article should help you out. Thanks for sharing your idea with us! :)

• DBLClick
    DBLClick
    Community Member

I love the idea of U2F for security keys, but I'm also against the idea being heavily dependent on the key. I think the google approach would be best, needing the key to provide a secure method of setup and login, but not every time we need to unlock 1PWx. this balance will ensure the integrity of the password, without the increase burden of using the key for every access.

• AGAlumB
    AGAlumB
    1Password Alumni

@DBLClick: Indeed, that's how 1Password works: since our security is based on encrypted not authentication, two-factor authentication is only used when authenticating with the server, i.e. when authorizing a device for the first time. After that, the data does not need to be retrieved from the server, as it is stored encrypted on the device, and therefore no authentication is involved at that stage. Cheers! :)

• ScipioAfricanus
    ScipioAfricanus
    Community Member