Enabling 2FA requires a repeated login on Chrome browser and ChromeOS.

alanhoyle
alanhoyle
Community Member
edited July 2019 in 1Password in the Browser

I have a 1Password Family subscription. I am running 1PasswordX (1.15.6) on the latest Stable Chrome (75.0.3770.142) on a number of computers (macOS 10.14.5) and Ubuntu Linux 19.04, and the Beta channel ChromeOS on a Chromebook. I enabled 2FA yesterday and added a couple security keys as well.

I have two issues:

1PasswordX requires multiple auth attempts to re-enable

As expected, I've had to reauthenticate to all of my previously set-up devices. Setting up 1PasswordX has been slightly problematic.

1. Go to machine which previously had 1PasswordX set up on it.
  2. Bring up Chrome and try to use 1PasswordX
  3. It pops up a new window with the 1Password online service, but it appears to have lost my email and secret key
  4. Enter email, secret key, and unlock passcode
  5. Pop-up window with "Insert your security key and press the button" instructions.
  6. EXPECTED BEHAVIOR: The pop-up disappears and the home screen appears.
  7. OBSERVED BEHAVIOR: The pop-up disappears and the previous screen stays up with the "spinner" spinning forever.
  8. WORK-AROUND: return to step 2. and reauthenticate. then I get the "EXPECTED BEHAVIOR"

I've tested this, so far, on two Macs, the Linux box, and a Chromebook. The Chromebook and Linux box were especially annoying as I don't have a 1Password native app installed and so had to retype the long secret key twice. I can test this on a windows 10 machine late tonight.

1PasswordX requires a U2F key if one has been enabled for the account, while apps require an app-generated passcode.