Organization across many vaults.

sstudios
sstudios
Community Member
edited February 2020 in Business and Teams

Hello,

I work in IT for a company with hundreds of employees, and we currently have rather poor password policies. We have created a 1Password account for our IT team, and are considering expanding it to cover more of our employees. We would want each employee to have a vault for their passwords that was still accessible by IT, so that we can manage company accounts. Currently, we store employee passwords in vaults by office, with tagging to link all of an employee's items and all accounts of a certain type.

There are two problems I have with this setup.

The first is that there seems to be no ability to organize vaults, so creating hundreds of vaults that IT would all have access to would make it more difficult to find vaults, because they're all displayed when I go to select a vault.

The second is that the web portal and the Mac app each have one feature the other lacks when it comes to using tags. The web app allows me to click on a tag and be taken to a list of items that have that tag, while the Mac app just selects the tag as if it were any other text. Meanwhile, the Mac app displays tags as a nested structure, rather than listing every single subtag in the sidebar. This allows me to see just the collection of tags I'm searching through, instead of scrolling through hundreds of tags.

Are there any solutions for these issues?

Thank you.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Hi @sstudios

Thanks for taking the time to write in with this concern.

We would want each employee to have a vault for their passwords that was still accessible by IT, so that we can manage company accounts.