Is it safe to delete the 2FA token after setting up yubikey?

notarobot
notarobot
Community Member

Hello,

I'm new to yubikey and 1Password. I have just bought 2 5ci to use with fairly new apple devices. I'd like to use the keys mostly with the laptop, which I only use on a dedicated secure network. My goal is to avoid typing passwords on my phone as much as possible, because it has been vulnerable to targeted hacking via cell network and wifi. I'd like to also remove evidence on the phone of my password manager account. I have successfully set up both yubikeys with my 1password account. I have written down the secret key and 2FA key and will protect them. Is it safe to now delete the 2FA token on the phone?

Thank you!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:Is it safe to delete the 2FA token after setting up Yubikey?

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

Hi @notarobot! Welcome to the forum!

Is it safe to now delete the 2FA token on the phone?

Just to make sure I fully understand your question: where is your 2FA token currently stored on your phone?

• notarobot
    notarobot
    Community Member

Thank you for your reply!

I have tokens in Google and Last Pass authenticator apps. I'm not committed to either or both, necessarily. I'm using Last Pass only for authentication after that account was hacked, and have been hesitant to use a password manager again, but would also like to get ahead of the game by trying yubikey, and this lead me to 1Password. My main concern at present is keeping a low profile on my phone regarding passwords and account info, protecting my home wifi, and not mixing the two. I hope this helps!

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

@notarobot: