2FA with one mobile but several accounts

Options
ProtoW
ProtoW
Community Member

Hi there,

I'm a freelance developer, and am testing Teams for a very specific case: separate (and isolated) vaults on various machines.
My goal was to have a master account on my main machine, where I would create one vault for each of my clients projects.
This project-based vault would then be shared with a guest account, which I would use for this project on development machines (e.g. isolated virtual machines).
In doing so, then only project-specific vaults would be accessible from a dev machine, thus highly increasing security.
I wanted then to add 2FA per account (the master account, and the guests).
Once again, please keep in mind I would be the sole user, master account as guest accounts.
So when setting-up 2FA in Authenticator, it appears I can only have 1 account on the App, so I cannot use the same smartphone for accessing the various accounts (master and guests).

Any idea?
(other than purchasing additional smartphones ;-)

Please note using guest accounts or additional team members accounts does not change the problem, as it is related to the number of different 2FA in Authenticator.

I could use two Apps (Authy in parallel to Authenticator), but it would then restrict me to 2 2FA-protected accounts, right?

I could move to a Business Account, then I would have one 2FA for my private account (which I would use as a guest account), and another one for my business account (which I would use as the master account).
But that would restrict me to only 2 2FA-protected accounts.

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• Ben
    Options

Hi @ProtoW

Because 1Password's security is based on encryption, rather than traditional authentication, 2FA plays a different role than is often the case. Please see, e.g. these threads: