Is it possible to import data from a CSV file into Secure Notes to include custom fields?

gadgetHound
gadgetHound
Community Member
edited April 2020 in Mac

I'm new to 1Password and working on importing my data from another password manager that outputs CSV files. I've read the knowledge articles here and the one "How to create a 1Password compatible CSV file" shows for Secure Note just two fields: title, text of note but if I create a Secure Note on the macOS version of 1Password I can add custom labels and sections. Is it possible to import data into Secure Notes and have custom labels and section data included in the CSV file?

I have a whole category of information related to hardware and serial numbers (cameras, computer equipment, gadgets) that I track including purchase information (dates, cost, vendor, order numbers, warranties etc.) and I've looked at the other categories and I think I will end up using a Secure Note. If I cannot find a way to import this via CSV it means I will have to create a Secure Note "template" with the custom labels and sections I need, duplicate it and then manually populate for each record I have (over 200), so looking for options if available.

Thanks!

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided
Referrer: forum-search:Secure Note importing with optional fields

Comments

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator
    edited April 2020

@gadgetHound ,

Yes! Use the csv converter in the converter suite . See the README.html for formatting instructions. Just follow the directions.

If you have exported from one of the supported password managers, use its converter instead for a more direct route.

• gadgetHound
    gadgetHound
    Community Member

Thanks - I did find the converter suite previously but wasn't sure if it could help so I will look into it further. Unfortunately I'm not coming from one of the supported password managers so CSV is the only path.

• MrC