Full Password Entry Search for 1Password X

Options

Hello,

I have been using 1Password X for a few months now and I am very pleased with it. One feature I believe that is missing is the ability to find a password entry using data stored in any field of the password.

For example in the notes section of a password entry I might type "MBP" for my MacBook. When I search using 1Password X, using the keyword MBP, my password is not returned since it doesn't appear to be searching the notes field.

Thanks!

1Password Version: 1Password X
Extension Version: 1.19.0
OS Version: OS X 10.15.3
Sync Type: 1Password Sync

Comments

• kaitlyn
    kaitlyn
    1Password Alumni
    Options

Hey @Archer36! 👋

Thanks for bringing up your thoughts here. It's always great to know how folks are using 1Password X as well as how they'd like to see it improve. As of right now, 1Password X isn't decrypting items until you click on them, and that's when you'd be able to see the notes inside. So searching contents of the notes section would require us to decrypt every item. I'm not saying it's impossible, by any means, but it would definitely require a rework of some of the code.

All that said, I'm curious why you wouldn't use a tag for a note like MBP. It seems like that would be extremely useful to you in this situation, and MBP is short enough that a tag would make the most sense, in my opinion. To test it out, I added a tag of MBP to one of my items then searched for "MBP" in 1Password X. The item that I added the tag to appeared right away. Could you give that a try and see if it'd work better for your situation? If I'm misunderstanding something, please let me know!

• Archer36
    Archer36
    Community Member
    Options

Hi Kaitlyn,

Yes tagging might be an option. Do you know if it's in the pipeline to improve the user tagging experience similar to how the full 1Password was just updated?

• kaitlyn
    kaitlyn
    1Password Alumni
    Options