Problem after upgrading to 1Password 7

Options
kajo
kajo
Community Member

Hello,
I have been using 1Password for many years and I have a license for my MAC laptop which i synch with my android phone. Just this morning, after upgrading to version 7, my account was frozen. It's now Read Mode only and I need to purchase a new license? I wish I hadn't upgraded coz while in version 6 and the previous versions, it was ok.

Can you please assist?
Appreciate it much.
Thanks

1Password Version: 7
Extension Version: 7.0.4
OS Version: OS X 10.13.4
Sync Type: WLAN Server

Comments

• Stephen_C
    Stephen_C
    Community Member
    Options

It looks as though you had a standalone licence for 1Password 6 (or whatever previous version of 1Password you were using) and you've managed through the (frankly difficult) setup screens for 1Password 7 to end up with a trial subscription account at 1Password.com. Does that sound right?

If it does, you can follow this procedure to sort things out. That will give you the choice to stick with 1Password 6 for the time being (assuming that's what you were using before the current update) or to try again to navigate the setup screens for 1Password 7.

There's a rather poor AgileBits' guide here to upgrading to 1Password 7 for Mac but it's really rather vague in terms of how to get a standalone licence and there are no screen shots of the setup screens. If you do try to upgrade again and can't find your way through the setup screens do please post again here before you get too far in!

In passing, AgileBits for goodness' sake let's have a decent page guiding people through the update process, with screen shots—and including proper details for those poor souls who want to stick with a standalone licence (like me). There are far too many posts here at the moment from people who've got lost among the setup screens and have ended up with a trial 1Password.com account they don't want.

Stephen

• Lars
    Lars
    1Password Alumni
    Options