1Password on New Laptop

ThomasBock301
ThomasBock301
Community Member
edited July 2020 in 1Password 7 for Windows

Hello:

I have been using 1Password for 5 years now. I recently purchased a new laptop and setting up/configuring 1Password is without a doubt the most challenging software.

Here's what I had previously:

• 1Password (desktop version) installed on laptop
  • 1Password (app) installed on Android phone
  • Used Dropbox to sync any changes from desktop version to Android device (or vice versa)
  • Using Dropbox did NOT require a paid membership... all worked perfectly!

Then, I purchased a new laptop:

• Reinstalled desktop version on new laptop
  • Installed Dropbbox on new laptop
  • Configuring the sync process is an absolute nightmare/challenge (shouldn't be this way)... 1Password screenshots on various help menus are out-of-date and don't match what I see in the version that I have

Here's where I currently stand:

• I even tried to switch over to the paid version of 1Password
  • I do NOT want my password in the cloud though... instead, I merely want to be able to sync data between desktop and phone... why does 1Password/AgileBits makes it sooo difficult to do so?

Is there anyone willing to summarize the steps for preferably configuring the syncing process w/o membership (i.e., I purchased the software but don't believe I need an annual membership)?

Thank you,
Tom

1Password Version: 4.6.2.626
Extension Version: ??
OS Version: Windows 10
Sync Type: Dropbox

Comments

• Greg
    Greg
    1Password Alumni

Hi @ThomasBock301,

I am sorry to hear about your experience! It was not our intention to confuse you.

Am I right to understand that you use 1Password 4 for Windows on your old computers now? Please confirm.

The thing is that 1Password 4 for Windows is an old app (that is no longer supported), that is why we do not have its articles in our support knowledge base. If you use a local vault in 1Password 4 for Windows, you can do the following: