Disable Watchtower banners in 7.0x

2»

Comments

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

@feliperubin I see that you posted in this thread too, so thank you for your feedback once again! As I mentioned in the other discussion you opened, we are looking at ways to make these more flexible, we just want to make sure that we do this properly without potentially lowering the security for less technical users who might be relying on these warnings to keep secure online.

• jiadar
    jiadar
    Community Member

Hi, I have been using 1password for about 10 years. I am usually reluctant to upgrade because of new "features" which are unnecessary at best. I paid to upgrade only to be greeted with this watchtower annoying me every time I use the app. I have 1100 passwords in the app and am a software engineer working on security sensitive products. I know what I'm doing and know how to manage my credentials. This watchtower is an absolute fail in my opinion. Once i saw it and found out what it was I looked for a setting to turn it off, to no avail! How ludicrous! I have enough annoyances with my day to day work and strive ruthlessly to automate common tasks and minimize context switching. Every time I see this watch tower it forces me to context switch into thinking about how ridiculous it is for a user like me.

PLEASE MAKE AN OPTION OR SETTING TO SHUT IT OFF !!!

In the meantime I will likely downgrade back to 1password version 6 without this annoying new "feature".

• ag_ana
    ag_ana
    1Password Alumni

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about Watchtower! We will keep it into consideration moving forward :+1:

• reaxion
    reaxion
    Community Member
    edited February 2020

So here we are in 2020, 2 years after this thread was started. There's still no way to turn off these banners? "If you changed your password before [6 months before the date of the last password change], you need to change it now."