John the Ripper and 1Password

jpgoldberg
jpgoldberg
1Password Alumni
edited July 2012 in Lounge
This topic is for discussion stemming from the blog post about John the Ripper (password cracker) and 1Password.

Cheers,

-j

Comments

• Thanks for the great article. I learned a lot and I look forward to the article on when and when not to change your master password.

Is PBKDF2-SHA1 implemented in the iOS applications as well? I just read about one of the BlackHat presentations that discussed password managers for iOS devices which you can find at http://www.elcomsom/WP/BH-EU-2012.pdf

I am new to all of this so I don't fully understand, but it appears that they don't paint 1Password Pro in favorable light. However, they mention that different iOS versions as well as hardware platforms have different securities. Would you be able to comment on PBKDF2 and the mobile apps?

I don't use DropBox syncing so my password database is only stored on my devices. The chances of getting my phone stolen are much higher than my desktop so I want to make sure that my databases are safe and secure on all platforms.

Thanks!
  • jpgoldberg
    jpgoldberg
    1Password Alumni
    Great question!

The Elcomsoft report on iOS password managers had a number of very fair criticisms of 1Password for iOS (along with a few that I think were off the mark). I have a great deal of respect for Elcomsoft and its people. (I no longer have my "Free Dmitry Sklyarov" t-shirt, as that has been worn out a long time ago.)

We have added PBKDF2 (with 10000 iterations) to 1Password for iOS since then, which also address the chosen plaintext (padding oracle) attack that they mentioned. You can read about these changes here

http://blog.agilebits.com/2012/04/09/1password-ios-pbkdf2-goodness/

And our earlier comments on the Elcomsoft review here

http://blog.agilebits.com/2012/03/16/strong-security-requires-strong-passwords/