Password Matching: Domain vs Sub-domain

I've combed through the release notes and other forum posts looking for answers to how to get 1PWD to match passwords for the current sub-domain I'm on rather than suggesting all passwords for the current domain. I work in a post-secondary environment and I have dozens of passwords for our domain but typically only one or two for each sub-domain. Unfortunately 1PWD currently offers suggestions for all passwords stored for our domain instead of just the current sub-domain I'm on.

While it looks like the matching algorithm was completely rewritten back in v3.9.0 released on 2012-03-06, there doesn't appear to be any movement on addressing url matching issue since then. I'm curious to know if this issue is on the books to be addressed in a future release, or if it's been considered and rejected.

I've been using 1PWD since 2008. I'm currently using browser extension v3.9.10.Beta-1 in Chrome mainly.

Cheers

Comments

• khad
    khad
    1Password Alumni
    Welcome to the forums, wce!

The list of available Login items in the extension popup will be matched to the FQDN. However, you can take advantage of what we call "single-stroke login" by using the Command-\ keyboard shortcut which does look at subdomains.

So, for example, if you have exactly one Login item for a subdomain pressing Command-\ will fill (and optionally submit) the Login for that specific subdomain.

Option-Command-\ will always open the extension popup so you can choose which Login item you want to use.

I hope that helps. Please let me know.
  • khad wrote:

However, you can take advantage of what we call "single-stroke login" by using the Command-\ keyboard shortcut which does look at subdomains.