Can't remember master password, please someone help me!

Options
Vaultimore
Vaultimore
Community Member
edited April 2015 in Mac

Dear friends !
I've forgotten my vault password and know that's v hard but will try your fox later. Now I can't remember my login admin password (user pw at the start )on the laptop I used F1 on , so I can't even start it or use it My nephew thought he was being helpful , bless. Grr . Can anyone help, bearing in mind the usual options aren't there as it goes the firmware password page eventually so I can do any Carl c or whatever . Please help if you can - I have a PhD deadline but I am glad I back that up to the IMac

It is a MacBook Air 2 if that's needed , thank you .
I would be very grateful

Kind regards

Simon Mercer, UK

Comments

• Stephen_C
    Stephen_C
    Community Member
    Options

Just to be quite clear, I'm understanding:

1. You have forgotten your 1Password master password so can't access your 1P data.
    2. As a result of that, you can't log in on the laptop that is running 1P because you can't remember the password you need to log in on that laptop.

Is that correct? Sorry to appear obtuse but there is something odd about those two statements. You can't run 1P before you've booted your laptop—so you can't access 1P to get your laptop password in any event (if 1P is only on the laptop for which you need the password).

I'm also confused, in that context, by this statement:

I have a PhD deadline but I am glad I back that up to the IMac

From that do I take it that your usual procedure was to find the laptop login password on 1P running on the iMac? Do you have 1P running on the iMac?