First impressions: [Hi-DPI support, network requests thread, modal focus, and many more]

Options
ptr727
ptr727
Community Member
edited April 2015 in 1Password 4 for Windows

Hi, long time eWallet user, and eWallet Go, on Windows, iOS, and Android, synced using Dropbox.
I just imported my eWallet into P1, and I'd like to give some feedback on obvious app improvements.

I am a developer by trade, and in my humble opinion the items below are defects, and UX and first impressions are king in the land of consumer software.

Blurry UI fonts:
The Windows UI is blurry on high DPI displays, like my Surface Pro 3.
This is very typical of apps that are using improper rendering, e.g. painting pixels instead of points, or a poor choice of 2D accelerated font rendering engine.

Modal UI focus:
When performing tasks like import or download icons, the task UI, and the task complete UI does not set the main UI as parent. Thus while the task UI is open, clicking on the taskbar icon for the main UI, or trying to focus the main UI appears to be unresponsive, one first has to alt-tab to find the open child UI, manually focus it, dismiss it, then the main UI is active again.

Network connection resiliency:
If while downloading icons the network connection is interrupted, the task will always hang. It is required to press cancel, and manually retry. The network logic should be resilient to network failures.

Importing duplicates result in empty cards:
The eWallet to P1 conversion process splits some cards, e.g. bank details and login details. I am not yet sure if this is an artifact of the import process, or a "feature" of P1 where it is not possible to store login details with account details. When such entries are encountered, the import process asks for duplicate replace or not, if I answer yes I end up with empty cards, if I answer no I get two cards with proper details.

Dropbox sync: