iPassword 5 freezes on SplashID import

Options
rosswords
rosswords
Community Member

I'm a longtime SplashID user (back to my VisorPhone!) trying to convert to 1Password. I'm still using SplashID 6.2 because I never trusted their more recent upgrades. I studied all the discussions here before trying to import, but no one described the situation I'm facing.

Whenever I try to import a .vid file, 1Password freezes. The Open button doesn't respond and the Cancel button doesn't respond. I need to quit 1Password to close that window. (It doesn't completely freeze, because the pulldown menu still works and I can quit without force-quitting, but nothing else functions.)

I tried everything recommended on the discussion boards: full and partial exports (even an export without any records, accidentally); using the VID and VID-3 export functions; converting from -v2.0 to -v3.0 in TextEdit; saving as a UTF-8 file; even renaming the files in various way. Nothing worked.

I'm using 1Password 5.3 on OSX 10.10.3 on a 2014 MacBook Air.

Any ideas?

1Password Version: Not Provided
Extension Version: Not Provided
OS Version: Not Provided
Sync Type: Not Provided

Comments

• rosswords
    rosswords
    Community Member
    Options

Update: Apparently, posting this question to the Discussion Forum did the trick. As soon as I posted, I went back to the Import window and clicked on a few things and it suddenly imported. I'm not sure exactly what did it--other than posting this question, of course. :)

• MrC
    MrC
    Volunteer Moderator
    Options

Hi @rosswords,

It is good to read that you were able to get your data imported from SplashID. That's the most important thing.

In case you are not happy with how the conversion went, in terms of the categories and many items going into Secure Notes, you may find better results with this converter.

• rosswords
    rosswords
    Community Member
    Options